Productive Loitering

Home » Preparations » Preparations

Preparations

Timbuk2 Aviator Bag

Combination Lock

Charles Schwab bank account for over seas ATM withdraw

Plane ticket to Buenos Aries for ‘Test Run’.

Chase United Explorers card. Purchased above ticket. Should be receiving 30,000 bonus miles as a promo, $50 credit on first statement, and 11,000+ miles after first trip in December.

Don’t forget to call the bank & credit companies to let them know I’m traveling.

Exchange Rates

http://www.xe.com/

Now I’m using this spot to save things & resources for traveling:

Tickets/Travel
http://www.journeywoman.com/ (Dress code for women in countries)
Travel Insurance
Muslim countries
Safety
Vaccines
Jobs:
This is a crude list of some of the resources I’ve been using. I’ll narrow down the useful or not as I go. Would recommend checking out some of these if you are preparing for around the world travel.
What to pack:
Language
Money Handling
  • Get a world map or go to Google Earth and make a list of all the countries you want to visit. If you have no idea where to start, go to Skyscanner. Type from your country to “Everywhere”. It will show you the cheapest airfares out of your country. You can use the flexible search for a whole month or even a year. I love Skyscanner. One of the best flight search engines ever.
  • Get a Passport, if you don’t have one yet. And if you have one, make sure it’s not going to expire in the next 12 months. Or better yet, in the next 2 years. Depending on how long you travel, keep in mind that some countries won’t allow you to enter if your passport expires in less than 6 months.
  • Check the visa requirements for all the countries you’re planning to travel to. Some visas you can get on the road, for others you have to apply from your home country. Don’t underestimate the importance of visas. You’ll probably spend days or weeks, have to call a bunch of embassies etc. to get all the information you need.
  • Get a credit card! Or two! Please don’t be like my dad who doesn’t believe in credit cards and carries a huge pile of cash in his pocket whenever he travels. I don’t recommend Traveler’s cheques anymore, not since I got ripped off in Mexico in 2005. Please make sure you remember all the passwords and PIN codes or record them in a safe place.
  • Yes, you need vaccinations! Don’t take this lightly! Please check Netdoctor to see which vaccinations you need before you hit the road.
  • Please get a travel insurance. You might never need it, and and if you don’t, be thankful. Don’t consider it a waste of money. Travel insurance is often cheaper than your regular health care plan. I pay 350 EUR per year. This is the cheapest I’ve found so far, but prices are different, depending which country you are. I highly recommend World Nomads. They cover residents from over 150 countries. You can buy, extend and claim, even while traveling.
  • Buy high quality travel gear. Yes, you heard me right. Buy a good backpack. Don’t go for the cheapest one. As much as I encourage people to live frugally, if you want to travel a long way, you need durable gear. My backpack is from Eagle Creek, it cost me about 200 EUR, but I can tell you, it’s lasted longer than any of my relationships. So far. If you asked me what one of the most useful things I bought for my trip was, I would have to say: A padlock with a 4-digit combination. Not for my backpack though – for locking rooms or safety boxes.
  • Look for a job abroad. If your budget is tight and you have to work during your travels, you’d better investigate the job market beforehand in order to find countries where it’s easier to find paying work. Keep reading for useful links on finding jobs abroad in the next step.
Leave a Reply

